Monday, March 2, 2015


By: Connor Glowacki

     Grammy award winning British folk-rock band Mumford & Sons have announced today that they will release a new album, titled 'Wilder Mind', on May 4. The lead off single, 'Believe', will be released in the next few days.
     Mumford & Sons has found huge commercial and critical success with their first two albums, 2009's 'Sigh No More' and 2012's 'Babel'. The latter album even won a Grammy back in 2013 for album of the year.
     The band has been well known for its use of acoustic instrumentation that includes guitars, banjos, mandolins, and other instruments that have helped popularize the rise of folk, bluegrass and americana genres into mainstream music over the last few years.
Album cover for 'Wilder Mind'
Photo courtesy of Consequence of Sound.
     However, in an exclusive interview with Rolling Stone, the band has stated that they have mostly replaced their standard signature elements - acoustic strumming, banjo, stomping kick drum - with arena sized guitars, synthesizers and even drum machines.
     During the interview, frontman Marcus Mumford stated, "We felt that doing the same thing, or same instrumentation again, just wasn't for us. None of us really had any interest in doing a sort of 'Babel 2'. It was always going to be different."
     Another revelation in the Rolling Stone article was that unlike the band's first two albums, the lyrical songwriting was reportedly shared between all band members and not just exclusively Mumford.
Lead singer Marcus Mumford has stated
the band did not want to make a
'Babel 2' with this new project.
Photo courtesy of

     "There's way more space on this record," said Mumford, "I think all of our favorite bands have albums that are really urgent, but have space to them. You listen to an Old Crow album and there's not a huge amount of space there. But then you listen to a Led Zeppelin album and you actually hear the space. All of our favorite bands, from Dire Straits to Fleetwood Mac to Radiohead, all go about it in interesting ways."
     The band has also recently hired a drummer for live shows and bassist Ted Dwane admitted, "Being a bass player in a band without a drummer for seven to eight years has been kind of weird."

Below is the tracklist for 'Wilder Mind':

1.) 'Tompkins Square Park'
2.) 'Believe'
3.) 'The Wolf'
4.) 'Wilder Mind'
5.) 'Just Smoke'
6.) 'Monster'
7.) 'Snake Eyes'
8.) 'Broad-Shouldered Beasts'
9.) 'Cold Arms'
10.) 'Ditmas'
11.) 'Only Love'
12.) 'Hot Gates'

How do you feel about a new Mumford & Sons album that will reportedly be very different from 'Sigh No More' and 'Babel', in terms of instrumentation?

Leave a comment below or send me your comment on Twitter @ConnorGlowacki.

No comments:

Post a Comment